Gentlemen of Leisure beard oil. 

Hello to all bearded and non bearded folk and welcome back to another addition of Beauty and a Beard!

In this review we’re going to be taking a look at a one man run business named Gentlemen of Leisure

Based in Langley, BC, Canada, this is a guy who has plenty of sole missions in regards to his business, one of which is to create great oils using only the best natural ingredients and to get them out there and available to the general public.  

Another stand out point that really made me like this guy pretty much straight away was his morals in terms of his beard and the adversities people can face for having one. In attending a job interview for one of Canada’s leading banks, he was quizzed on his facial hair and basically advised that it be best to clean shave to keep up a ‘professional image’ etc, which resulted in the motivation to produce his own company creating beard oils, because why should a person be told what to do and what is best in regards to their appearance? A bold decision it may seem, but I fully understand the reasoning behind it when I have received such judgement myself. I mean our beards are a big part of who we are, our personalities, our confidence and we shouldn’t be judged as individuals or made to feel like we’re not ‘up to the job’ simply because of some facial hair.

Now, after that Winston Churchill’esque speech it’s now time to get down to business!

I was contacted by Nate via Instagram and asked if I would like to test out his product, which of course I happily agreed to because 1. I’ve never been asked to personally review somebody’s own product before and 2. who wouldn’t want to try out some beard oil for free?! 

Now obviously I know people from the UK will pick up straight away on the fact this is a Canadian based company but do not let that put you off in any way because I received this oil very very quickly and let’s be honest, if you want to source the best products for your beard then you need to look outside of Britain also in my opinion because you will never know unless you try. 


So I received a 30ml bottle all the way from Canada. Straight away I was impressed with the packaging of this oil, simply because it doesn’t try to be fancy and in all honesty it doesn’t need to be. The oil is contained in an amber pump style bottle to help protect against UV rays that can deteriorate the vital nutrients inside. We then have just a nice plain black banding with the company name etc in white script style writing. For me, simplistic yet effective. 

So now the oil itself. I was genuinely very impressed with how soft my beard felt from literally the first time of using this product. Just two to three pumps was enough to cover the entirety of my beard and leave it feeling nourished and smooth.

On the back of the bottle are the ingredients list and it’s not hard to see why this oil produces the effects that it does. It is packed with oils such as Jojoba (great for strenghening and moisturising hair) and coconut oil (penetrates the skin a lot faster to keep it healthier looking), along with other great benefiting oils to help keep beard druff and brittle hairs at bay.  So straight away and over time this product will leave your beard looking and feeling a lot healthier, smoother and softer.

Now this fragrance is unscented, which is great if you’re not a fan of strong scents and just like the nitty gritty so to speak. For now this is the only oil available but there will be scented oils in future I’m sure for those that prefer this.

Don’t just take my word for it, get yourself some great Canadian beard oil here. It’s $25 which works out at roughly £13 if buying from the UK, which for a 30ml bottle you definitely can not complain about because that is a lot of oil! 

If you want to get in contact with Gentlemen of Leisure with any questions or queries regarding their oil etc then you can find them on both Facebook and Instagram.

And that my little bearded friends wraps up yet another blog review! *applause*. I hope you found this review both informative and helpful and please do check this oil out because it really is worth the money and I for one will be purchasing from these guys in the future. 

A big thanks to Nate at Gentlemen of Leisure for giving me the opportunity to review his product and also to you guys for reading! 

As always you can find me on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Beauty and a Beard.

Leave a Reply

