Calling it quits – Part 1.

Hey guys, welcome to my blog and my latest post!

So, I have decided to keep track of my progress on quitting smoking with a weekly post each Thursday, for the next 4 weeks, basically detailing how I’m feeling, how much I am/am not struggling, why I’m quitting etc. Not only to show others that it can be done and that it is achievable, but also for myself, sort of to prove that I can do it no matter the urges.

First off, I’d just like to say that I haven’t smoked for years and years. It has been a little over three years. Although I did used to enjoy the odd few when I would go out for a drink before officially taking it up full time. That being said, three years is still a long time and a lot of money spent.

So, I finally decided to give up smoking on Wednesday 22nd of Feb, (whoooooooo!) and I will not lie, it has already been fucking tough at times. I mean I have tried in the past to at least just cut down (I would smoke around 15 a day), as well as stopping altogether, but to no avail. But this time round feels different. I feel more positive about quitting. In all honesty, I need to wether I like it or not.

Now there’s multiple reasons as to why I want to stop, mainly because of the price of smoking. I mean you’re talking near £100 a week. That’s roughly £400 a month. That’s a LOT of cash monies. That’s also very ridiculous. Add on top of this the smell of stale smoke on your clothes, your hair, everywhere. The worst thing is, is that you don’t even realise how bad the smell is because your sense of smell is not at its best due to smoking anyway. Plus, the unhealthy lifestyle, the standing outside in the wind and rain just for 5 minutes of smoking a tiny stick. Is it worth it? No, in all honesty it definitely is not.

I will do a quick rundown of the smoke free days so far and how I’ve felt during each one etc.

Day One: Going straight cold turkey and just not smoking at all was tough. I had multiple urges throughout the day during work, where I felt like just giving up and buying a packet of cigarettes on my break. But I never, I resisted and stuck it out.

Day 2: I had to put a Nicotine patch on. The urge to smoke was horrendous. I felt very stressed and on edge.

Day 3: No patch. Started to feel slightly better and less eager to smoke. Still had the odd thought of how nice it would be to smoke, though.

Day 4: Again, started to feel more and more positive about quitting. Probably had one or two ‘cravings’ but nothing major.

Day 5: Didn’t even think about smoking.  It felt normal to just get up in the morning and go to work without smoking in that time.

Day 6: Had a bit of a mind relapse and wanted to smoke. I found it quite tough this day but again resisted the urge.

Day 7: Just like day 5, I didn’t even think about it. The cravings are starting to ease off and I’m starting to feel better health wise in my breathing and my sense of smell etc.

I think the hardest part of quitting has been getting out of that smoking routine. Getting up and having a smoke with my morning coffee, after food, before bed etc. But in all honesty, 7 days in and it’s going a lot better than I expected and I feel very positive about it. I don’t want to smoke anymore and I don’t even think about it half as much as I did in the first couple of days.

If anybody else is trying to quit, or has been thinking about quitting, then I honestly urge you to try your hardest. I mean if I can do it (zero willpower may I add), then anybody can. It’s not as tough as it seems and each passing day gets better.

So on that note, thank you very much for reading Part 1 of my journey! You can catch my next installment in a week’s time, where I will discuss my hopefully improving health benefits and my non existent cravings! And as always, feel free to leave me a comment or get in touch with me via Twitter!

Catch you soon…


Kev
.

3 thoughts on “Calling it quits – Part 1.

  1. wartsandallonline says:

    Congrats on giving up smoking! My boyfriend went cold turkey after a health scare about three years ago and he’s so much better for it. He’d had a cough for about 2 years straight which disappeared, his skin improved and he didn’t have to stand in the cold smoking anymore.

    It’s so hard to stick with it but fingers crossed you do 🙂

    Laura xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Kev says:

      That’s actually amazing, well done to him! It’s easier than I thought tbh, even with the odd thoughts about it now and then! Definitely looking forward to the better skin though 🙈

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

